A product that is generally made from fermented and partially cooked soybeans, but is also made from other legumes and grains, such as barley, rice or quinoa. To make tempeh, a process similar to cheesemaking occurs, using the spores of a good mold which are inoculated into the soybeans. As the beans ferment, they become bound into a flattened food cake. The enzymes are then preserved as the product is blanched or frozen.
Tempeh becomes soft in texture, similar to soft tofu, and provides a nutty, yeasty flavor when consumed. It can be fried, sautéed, and steamed to be served as a meat substitute and is a popular food for vegetarian and Asian cooking. Tempeh is available at natural food stores and some common food stores.
There currently aren't any reviews or comments for this term. Be the first!